João Gilberto – A Primeira Vez (1961)

Joao Gilbeto

The year is 1961 and João Gilberto sings about the first time he encountered her.

Translation:

The first time I met you I entertained the illusion of being happy

I was sad, smiled caught in the pine and sang

I made so many verses and held them closely

One day you left, I was speechless and my voice died

I search to forget the pain but I am unable

My guitar doesn’t play anymore

I live sadly in solitude

I don’t sing anymore

My consolation is to cry

Leave a Reply

