'Round Midnight

Perfect timing… It’s Saturday night and I’m bored.  I lost my wallet somewhere in my house.  So, I’m pennyless and without a driver license.  For whatever reason, whenever I’m hanging out at home during a weekend evening, and playing music, the Amy Winehouse version of the song ‘Round Midnight comes on.  It never fails.  And without fail, I play it over and over… and over.

I don’t know what it is about this song.  It has a certain vibe.  The beat pulses.  It’s a blend of jazz, the exotic, sexiness and mystery.   Amy Winehouse plays the song masterfully with her vocals.  She’s carefree, seductive, and in the mood throughout.

It’s hypnotizing.  It shifts my state of mind.  I liken it to the shining the bat symbol above Gotham City.  When Batman sees it, he goes into action to confront whatever danger is out there.  When ‘Round Midnight comes on, things are supposed to happen.  “Memories always start ’round midnight.”

I do pretty well 'til after sundown...

I do pretty well 'til after sundown...

‘Round Midnight, wherever you are, the atmosphere becomes relaxed.  But, there’s no doubt that there is a certain edge that pervades.  If you’re indoors the light gets dimmer and the beat pulses louder.  If you’re out and about, the city comes alive.  While driving, your car glides a little smoother.  Your stance becomes a cool lean.  Your date got a whole lot sexier.   And, your night just got a whole lot cooler.

Thelonious Monk

Thelonious Monk

‘Round Midnight is a 1944 jazz standard composed by jazz musician Thelonious Monk.

Leave a Reply

